Wycombe District Council

12/06/2018 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 12/06/2018 05:48

Statement from the four Bucks district councils regarding the new unitary authority for Buckinghamshire

06 December 2018

residents. Currently there are 49 county wards containing 169 parishes. The Secretary of State invited us to consider whether to appoint two or three councillors per ward and in our opinion, to deliver proper local democracy, each ward will initially need three councillors. This would make a council of 147 seats. Whilst a large council, this is a significant reduction from the current 236 on the county and district councils. However, we will be recommending a boundary review during the first term of the new council which will determine the optimum number of councillors to serve our residents.

We believe that the foundations we lay now must be robust enough to support Buckinghamshire not only now but also for the long-term future, taking account of the enormous changes that are being planned for our county. Our main priority through this transition is to ensure there is continuity of the services we deliver to our residents and communities.