FSA - Farm Service Agency

05/14/2018 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 05/17/2018 01:48

USDA Designates 10 Counties in Kansas as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Release No. 0071.18

Latawnya Dia
[email protected]

WASHINGTON, May 14, 2018 - The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 10 counties in Kansas as primary natural disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by a recent drought. Those counties are:

Clay Geary Lyon Pottawatomie Shawnee
Coffey Jackson Osage Riley Wabaunsee

Farmers and ranchers in the contiguous counties in Kansas also qualify for natural disaster assistance. Those counties are:

Allen Cloud Greenwood Nemaha
Anderson Dickinson Jefferson Ottawa
Atchison Douglas Marshall Washington
Brown Franklin Morris Woodson

Qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for the Farm Service Agency's (FSA's) emergency (EM) loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration of May 10, 2018, to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include: Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov.

FSA news releases are available on FSA's website at www.fsa.usda.gov via the 'Newsroom' link.