World Rugby

10/11/2019 | News release | Distributed by Public on 10/10/2019 21:58

Jones looks to experience for Canada's last chance at victory

TOKYO, 11 Oct - Canada coach Kingsley Jones has gone for the most experienced line-up he can extract from his squad of 31 for Canada's final match at Rugby World Cup 2019.

In probably their best chance to record a victory, Canada take on Namibia in the final Pool B match at the Kamaisha Memorial Stadium on Sunday.

Captain Tyler Ardron, Jeff Hassler, Conor Trainor, Ciaran Hearn, Gordon McRorie and DTH van der Merwe, pictured, represent almost 50 RWC matches' worth of experience in a team that has five changes from the one that started in the 66-7 defeat by South Africa.

Along with McRorie coming into the team the other changes to the starting team are Djustice Sears-Duru, Eric Howard, Conor Keys and Patrick Parfrey.

For Van der Merwe this match is his last chance to become one of five players in history - along with Wales's Gareth Thomas, Samoa's Brian Lima, Australia's Adam Ashley-Cooper and Ireland's Brian O'Driscoll - to score at least one try at four different RWCs. Van der Merwe has failed to score at RWC 2019 but already made history by becoming the Canadian player with the most RWC appearances (15).

Injuries and red cards have also forced Canada to call up Dustin Dobravsky to fill the back-up role for the second-row. Dobravsky flew in on Wednesday to replace Mike Sheppard and is selected on the replacements bench even though he is likely to still have a touch of jet lag.

Canada have used every substitute in the previous matches so there is a good chance Dobravsky will appear some time during the game.


1. Djustice Sears-Duru
2. Eric Howard
3. Jake Ilnicki
4. Evan Olmstead
5. Conor Keys
6. Lucas Rumball
7. Matthew Heaton
8. Tyler Ardron (capt.)
9. Gordon McRorie
10. Peter Nelson
11. DTH van der Merwe
12. Ciaran Hearn
13. Conor Trainor
14. Jeff Hassler
15. Patrick Parfrey

16. Andrew Quattrin
17. Hubert Buydens
18. Matthew Tierney
19. Luke Campbell
20. Dustin Dobravsky
21. Jamie Mackenzie
22. Shane O'Leary
23. Andrew Coe

RNS ls/ajr