Alabama Farmers Federation

09/11/2019 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 09/11/2019 13:44

USDA Names Three Alabama Counties Primary Natural Disaster Areas

September 11, 2019

U.S. Department of Agriculture

The U.S. Drought Monitor for Alabama, as of Sept. 5, 2019.

WASHINGTON, Sept. 10, 2019 - Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated three Alabama counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Dale, Geneva and Henry counties who suffered losses due to recent drought may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

The deadline to apply is April 29, 2020.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Alabama counties of Barbour, Coffee, Covington, Houston and Pike, along with Holmes, Jackson and Walton counties in Florida and Clay and Early counties in Georgia, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at