ILO - International Labour Organization

05/22/2018 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 05/22/2018 07:43

ILO to launch new global estimates about HIV and AIDS impact on the world of work

GENEVA (ILO News) - The International Labour Organization (ILO) is to launch the report The impact of HIV and AIDS on the world of work: Global estimates on Thursday, 24 May.

The report - prepared in collaboration with UNAIDS - looks at how the evolution of the HIV epidemic and the scale-up of antiretroviral therapy (ART) have impacted the global labour force and how it is projected to do so in the future.

The new study also assesses the economic and social impact of HIV on workers and their households.

Embargoed electronic copies of the report and associated media material will be made available to journalists upon request by contacting [email protected] .

The report and all associated material and information are under strict embargo until 09:00 GMT (11:00 Geneva time) on Thursday, 24 May.

A Facebook Live with the report authors will take place at 13:30 GMT (15:30 Geneva time) on Thursday, 24 May.

Interviews by print, web or broadcast media can be scheduled via the ILO Department of Communication: [email protected] , +4122/799-7912.