Toyota Motor Corporation

09/21/2020 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 09/20/2020 18:39

Rally Turkey: Day 3Evans claims victory for TOYOTA GAZOO Racing on a turbulent final day

Elfyn Evans took his second victory with the TOYOTA GAZOO Racing World Rally Team on a dramatic final day of Rally Turkey, where he rose from fourth to first position in a demanding longest stage of the 2020 season.

Podium Ceremony

The 38.15-kilometre Çetibeli stage was the first of two tests that would be run twice on the final day of the event, and that initial run over the rocky terrain proved to be highly eventful with a number of drivers having to stop and change wheels, including Toyota pair Sébastien Ogier and Kalle Rovanperä.

Evans on the other hand made it through the stage without trouble, setting the fastest time to surge into a 46.9-second lead. From there, he and co-driver Scott Martin were able to safely complete the remaining stages and secure a victory that moves Evans to the top of the drivers' championship.

A fast wheel change from Ogier and co-driver Julien Ingrassia allowed them to finish the day's opening stage holding onto second place overall. Unfortunately, they had to retire from the rally on SS11 due to an engine-related issue. Ogier is now second in the drivers' standings, 18 points behind Evans.

Rovanperä's impressive rookie season alongside his co-driver Jonne Halttunen continued with a fourth-place finish: the 19-year-old's fifth top-five result from as many events at rallying's highest level. His result helps Toyota increase its lead in the manufacturers' championship to nine points.


1 Elfyn Evans/Scott Martin (Toyota Yaris WRC) 2h43m02.7s
2 Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC) +35.2s
3 Sébastien Loeb/Daniel Elena (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC) +59.4s
4 Kalle Rovanperä/Jonne Halttunen (Toyota Yaris WRC) +2m35.9s
5 Gus Greensmith/Elliott Edmondson (Ford Fiesta WRC) +4m08.3s
6 Esapekka Lappi/Janne Ferm (Ford Fiesta WRC) +5m36.2s
7 Kajetan Kajetanowicz/Maciek Szczepaniak (Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo) +12m35.5s
8 Pontus Tidemand/Patrik Barth (Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo) +12m59.7s
9 Adrien Fourmaux/Renaud Jamoul (Ford Fiesta Rally2) +14m42.6s
10 Marco Bulacia/Marcelo Der Ohannesian (Citroën C3 R5) +14m46.4s
Retired Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (Toyota Yaris WRC)

Pictures will be uploaded here during the event

*In order to access the new media site, please register your ID and password through above URL.

- The content is password protected only for media.

Follow us!

Follow WRT:
Twitter: (@TGR_WRC)
Instagram: (@TGR_WRC)