Government of Canada

05/06/2019 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 05/06/2019 08:07

Three First Place Winners in National Student Video Contest

For Immediate Release

May 6, 2019 - Hamilton, ON - Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS)

Today, the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) announced the winners of the national Focus on Safety Youth Video Contest. For the first time in the history of the contest, the judges' scores led to a three-way tie for first place.

As a result, CCOHS is awarding three first-place prizes to the winning student producers and their respective schools:

'Training Works'
Producer: Kahless Christopher
Honourable W.C. Kennedy Collegiate
Windsor, Ontario

'Safety is Not a Joke'
Producers: Jacob Markham, Etienne Loney, Erik Wiebe, Bennett Sidloski, and Meghan RempelMiles Macdonnell CollegiateWinnipeg, Manitoba

'Workplace Spook'
Producers: Braeden Cordero, Markus Cluff, Tamara Joric
Sir John Franklin High School
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

The video contest challenged youth across the country to use their creativity to produce an original video that could be used in social media to illustrate to younger workers the importance of working safely on the job. Contestants and their affiliated organizations, institutions or schools, had a chance to win cash prizes, provincial/territorial and national recognition.

Ten entries were accepted for national consideration from provincial and territorial contests. The videos entered into the national contest were evaluated by a panel of judges consisting of Sarah Wheelan of Threads of Life; Anne Tennier, CCOHS President and Chief Executive Officer; and Travis McLennon, a previous CCOHS Dick Martin Scholarship recipient. The winning videos were announced and shown at the national launch event for Safety and Health Week in Saint John, New Brunswick on May 6, 2019.

The 2019 winners and links to all of the winning videos are posted on the Young Workers Zone: