FEMA - Federal Emergency Management Agency

10/12/2017 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 10/13/2017 06:51

Disaster Recovery Center Update for Jefferson County

AUSTIN, Texas - Four State of Texas/federal Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) will offer a variety of services on an alternating schedule in the cities of Bevil Oaks, China, Hamshire and Nome beginning Friday, Oct.13, 2017.

RCs offer in-person support to individuals and businesses in counties included in the Texas federal disaster declaration for Hurricane Harvey and the subsequent floods.

Recovery specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), the State and other agencies will be at the centers to talk about assistance and to help anyone who needs guidance in filing an application. Here are the schedules:

Nome City Hall

1586 2 St.

Nome, TX 77629

Fri, Oct. 13 - Sat, Oct. 14 (9 a.m. -6 p.m.)

Thurs, Oct. 26 - Sat, Oct. 28 (9 a.m.-6 p.m.)
Thurs, Nov. 9 - Sat, Nov. 11 (9 a.m.-6 p.m.)
Closed Sundays

Bevil Oaks parking lot

7390 Sweetgum Rd.

Bevil Oaks, TX 77713

Mon, Oct. 16 - Wed, Oct. 18 (9 a.m.-6 p.m.)

Mon, Oct. 30 - Wed, Nov. 1 (9 a.m.-6 p.m.)

Mon, Nov. 13 - Wed, Nov. 15 (9a.m.-6 p.m.)

Closed Sundays

First Baptist Church

25304 Hwy 124

Hamshire, TX 77622

Thurs, Oct. 19 - Sat, Oct. 21 (9 a.m.-6 p.m.)

Thurs, Nov. 2 - Sat, Nov. 4 (9 a.m.-6p.m.)

Closed Sundays

Parking lot across the street from Jefferson County Municipal Building

717 N Broadway

China, TX 77613

Mon, Oct. 23 -Wed, Oct 25 (9 a.m.-6 p.m.)

Mon, Nov. 6- Wed, Nov. 8 (9 a.m.-6 p.m.)

Closed Sundays

SBA disaster assistance employees are committed to helping businesses and residents rebuild as quickly as possible. SBA representatives are available to answer questions about SBA's disaster loan program and help business owners and residents apply to SBA.

Disaster Recovery Centers are accessible to people with disabilities. Centers have assistive technology equipment allowing disaster survivors to use amplified telephones, phones that display text, amplified listening devices for people with hearing loss and magnifiers for people with vision loss. Video Remote Interpreting is available and in-person sign language is available by request. The centers also have accessible parking, ramps and restrooms.

American Sign Language interpreters are available to assist at a DRC. Requests can be made via text message at (470)379-5943. Survivors will need to provide their name, the address of the DRC they will be visiting, the date and time of their visit and the type of sign language they are requesting. All requests for help should be made at least 24 hours in advance of a DRC visit to ensure assistance is available.

For more information on Hurricane Harvey and Texas recovery, visit the Hurricane Harvey disaster web page, the FEMA Harvey Facebook page, the @FEMARegion6 Twitter account, and the Texas Division of Emergency Management website.