FIBA - International Basketball Federation

10/26/2019 | News release | Distributed by Public on 10/26/2019 14:40

Where do Barry Stewart's eight three-pointers rank amongst FIBA Europe Cup history?

MUNICH (Germany) - Barry Stewart was red-hot from beyond the arc in a tough loss on Gameday 1, but where do his eight three-pointers stack up in the history of the competition?

The American went 8-of-12 from downtown as part of his 29-point performance that earned a spot in the Team of the Week despite BC CSU Sibiu falling 92-86 in overtime.

Stewart's effort saw him become the 12th player to net at least eight triples in a single FIBA Europe Cup game and the first to do so since Stefan Moody went 8-of-10 for Tsmoki-Minsk almost 12 months ago.

The all-time competition record, however, is held by Spencer Butterfield after his astonishing 11-of-13 feat in the 2016-17 edition in a 39-point haul for Nanterre 92.

The American's lights out performance came less than a week after John Roberson had set the record for Chalon with 10-of-11 and the duo shared the competition scoring record with 39 apiece until Rashawn Thomas hit 40 earlier last season.

Joey King still holds onto his podium spot for perimeter splashes with his nine makes also coming in the 2016-17 season with Kataja.

Back in the inaugural season a year earlier, Thaddeus McFadden became the first player to fire in eight three-pointers in a game in November, 2015 with DJ Newbill, Brady Heslip, Tony Bizaca, Drew Barham, Erving Walker and Nemanja Vranjes also part of the select club.

Most three-pointers made in a single game in FIBA Europe Cup history:

Player Team 3PM 3PA Date
Spencer Butterfield Nanterre 92 11 13 March, 2017
John Roberson Elan Chalon 10 11 March, 2017
Joey King Kataja 9 14 February, 2017
DJ Newbill ASVEL 8 9 December, 2015
Drew Barham Mures 8 9 November, 2016
Toni Bizaca Sodertalje 8 10 November, 2016
Stefan Moody Tsmoki-Minsk 8 10 November, 2018
Erving Walker Buyukcekmece 8 11 December, 2017
Nemanja Vranjes Mornar 8 11 March, 2018
Thaddeus McFadden AEK Larnaca 8 12 November, 2015
Barry Stewart BC CSU Sibiu 8 12 October, 2019
Brady Heslip Cantu 8 13 December, 2015