Wego Pte Ltd.

07/28/2021 | News release | Distributed by Public on 07/28/2021 02:38

Qatar Visa: Everything You Need to Know About Acquiring a Visa for Your Trip to Qatar

This article is reviewed regularly (on a monthly basis) by Wego' s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate.

Updated 26 July 2021

After a considerable period of pause, Qatar has recently reopened international travel for fully vaccinated visitors from around the world. Naturally, those looking to once again cross paths with the small Middle Eastern country would first need to familiarize themselves with the latest Qatar visa regulations.

If you're among those planning to take a trip to Qatar, here is all you need to know about the various available Qatar visas along with their requirements and validity.

Visa-free countries

Staying true to its slogan of 'the most open country in the Middle East,' Qatar is providing citizens of more than 85 countries the opportunity of visa-free entry or acquiring visa-waiver upon arrival.

Visitors from visa-exempt countries must ensure their passport has a minimum validity of at least six months along with a confirmed onward or return ticket.

90-day stay period

For citizens of the following countries, a visa-free stay of 90 daysis allowed within a six-month period. The visa-free period is valid for single or multiple entries.

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine.


Additional requirements for Armenian travellers:

  • Passport must be valid for at least 6 months
  • Return ticket must be confirmed

30-day stay period

For citizens of the following countries, a visa-free stay of 30 daysis allowed from the date of issuance and may be extended for another 30 days.

Andorra, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Georgia, Guyana, Hong Kong, China, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Japan, Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Macedonia, Maldives, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, New Zealand, Panama, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Russia, Rwanda, San Marino, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Suriname, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela.


Additional requirements for Indian travellers:

  • Passport must be valid for at least 6 months
  • Return ticket must be confirmed
  • The arriving passenger must possess a minimum cash amount of USD 1400 or a valid credit card, this is applicable for the entire family
  • Hotel reservation in one of the country's hotels during the visit period must be confirmed
  • Must be fully vaccinated with vaccines approved by the Ministry of Public Health and have completed a period of 14 days after the last dose
  • Must have a certificate confirming negative PCR test completed during the 72 hours from the time of arrival
  • Must have an electronic registration completed on the Ehteraz platform (www.ehteraz.gov.qa) to obtain the approval of the Ministry of Public Health before travelling


Additional requirements for Pakistani travellers:

  • Passport must be valid for at least 6 months
  • Return ticket must be confirmed
  • Hotel booking confirmation for the duration of the stay must be presented
  • The passenger must have a valid credit card
  • Those coming directly from Pakistan should present a certificate of vaccination against polio
  • The duration of the visa can be extended only after confirming the return ticket

Bosnia & Herzegovina

Additional requirements for Bosnia & Herzegovina travellers:

  • Citizen must carry a permanent passport that is valid for at least 6 months
  • Return ticket must be confirmed

Visa exemptions

Nationals of the Gulf Cooperation Council countries (Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates) do not require a visa to enter Qatar.

Visa on Arrival

Qatar-Oman Joint Tourist Visa (Visa on Arrival)

The Qatar-Oman Joint Tourist Visa is a visa issued upon arrival and grants multiple entries to both countries. The visa is valid for 30 days and can be extended for an additional 30 days. Citizens of the following countries are eligible for the joint visa:

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Canada, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City.

Electronic Travel Authorisation

Foreign nationals of non-visa exempt countries but holding a valid residence permit or visit visa to either Schengen countries, Australia, Canada, UK, USA or New Zealand, may applyfor an Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) free of charge.

Travellers will be asked to provide the following:

  • proof of accommodation in Qatar (hotel booking or the host's address)
  • details of return (or onward) travel
  • a copy of a valid passport (with a minimum validity of six months)
  • a copy of a residence permit or visa to any one of the eligible countries stated above (with a minimum validity of 30 days)

Tourist Visa

Foreign nationals not eligible for both visa-free entry or ETA may apply online for a Tourist Visa. Travellers heading for Qatar onboard any airline can apply for a Tourist Visa through the Qatar Visa Service for a fee of QAR 100. Holders of the Tourist Visa may stay for a maximum period of 30 days on a single trip.

Qatar Tourist Visa requirements are as follows:

  • complete an online form
  • upload required documents (including passport scans & personal photographs)
  • provide an airline booking reservation
  • make an online payment using a valid Visa or Mastercard

Qatar Transit Visa

For those whose itinerary includes Doha as a pit stop, a transit visais required if you are not one of the 85 nationalities eligible for a visa-free entry to Qatar. The pre-approved transit visa is issued free of charge and is valid for a duration between 5 to 96 hours.

GCC Resident Visit Visa

For residents of GCC countries, a single-entry visa can be obtained for a fee of QAR 100, payable by Visa or Mastercard. The visa is valid for 30 days and may be renewed for an additional three months. Those looking to acquire said visa may be asked to present official documentation stating their profession upon entry to Qatar.