Government of the Republic of Montenegro

10/05/2021 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 10/06/2021 01:16

Abazović awarded a Key to the City of Tirana

Published on: Oct 5, 2021 4:45 PM Author: Office of the Deputy Prime Minister

Deputy Prime Minister Dritan Abazović was awarded a Key to the City of Tirana by Mayor of the capital of Albania Erion Veliaj.

The Key to the City of Tirana has so far been awarded to prominent individuals from the fields of politics and art. Among others, the Key of the City of Tirana was awarded to: David Sassoli, President of the European Parliament, Goran Bregović, artist, Dua Lipa, world music artist, Stevo Pendarovski, President of North Macedonia, Borut Pahor, President of Slovenia, the Mayor of Athens and many others.

Tirana Mayor Veliaj stressed that young politicians in the region need to bring new energy, to support each other, all in favour of progress, changing people's awareness and outdated thinking.

Deputy Prime Minister Abazović emphasised that he had the great honor of being the first man from Montenegro to receive this award. Abazović pointed out that the symbolic Key to the City of Tirana should open the hearts of the citizens of the two countries, all with the goal of bringing them closer and breaking mutual prejudices.