Athletic Association of Ireland

01/10/2020 | News release | Distributed by Public on 01/10/2020 02:39

Celtic Cross Country Champshipships

POSTED: January 10 2020

Irish U17, U20 and U23 teams will travel to compete in the Celtic International Cross Country Championship in Stirling, Scotland, this weekend. Ulster and NI will also field teams to face Wales and Scotland. The races are incorporated into the British Cross Challenge race and will feature strong competition with athletes from across Scotland and the UK involved.

Interestingly, Scotland has adopted the policy of equal distances for male and female athletes so our young athletes will face the challenge of racing over longer distances than they are used to with the u17s and ,racing over 6km and 7km courses respectively. In a year that will end with a home European Cross Country Championships, there will be strong Irish teams despite several athletes being unavailable due to college exams and others focusing on the Indoor season. Best of luck to the Irish athletes.

The teams and race information can be found here:

U17 International Teams

Gara Williams MSB

Emma Landers Youghal

Avril Millerick Youghal

Amy Geoghegan Mullingar Harriers

Dara Donoghue Lucan Harriers

Joel Chambers Willowfield Harriers

Myles Hewlett United Striders

Tadgh Connolly St Senan's

U17 Development Teams

Neasa Ni Ainiféin Ennis Track

Claragh Keane DMP

Phoebe Bate Mullingar Harriers

Alice Hickey Rathfarnham

Jack McCausland City of Lisburn

David Williams St Senans

Jake Stafford Willowfield Harriers

Jack Fenlon St Abbans

U20 International Teams

Danielle Donegan Tullamore Harriers

Eimear Maher DSD

Niamh O'Mahoney An Ríocht A.C.

Una O'Brien Waterford A.C.

Shane Coffey Naas A.C

Dean Casey Ennis Track A.C.

Daniel Stone Raheny Shamrock A.C.

Miceal McCaul Unattached

U23 International Teams

Sorcha McAlister Westport A.C.

Claire Fagan Mullingar Harriers

Eilish O`Grady St. Michael's A.C.

Aoife O`Brien Westport A.C.

David McGlynn Waterford A.C.

Thomas McStay Galway City Harriers

Donal Devane Ennis Track A.C.

Daire Finn Dublin City Harriers