FIBA - International Basketball Federation

12/01/2018 | News release | Distributed by Public on 12/01/2018 02:21

Six teams battle for places in Cotonou for Afro League 2019

COTONOU:(FIBA Africa Zone 3 Qualifiers for Afro League 2019) - The battle line is drawn in Cotonou, Benin Republic as six teams are set to make history.
The six teams which include Beninoise champions Elan Sportive (host) will slug it out against Customs Braves of Ghana, Harbel of Liberia, Niger's AS Police of Niamey alongside Civil Defenders and Rivers Hoopers of Nigeria.
All the teams are hopeful of being a part of the reformulated Africa Champions Cup (ACC) known as the Afro League that is set to start in January 2019.
Already, the Federation of Benin Basketball led by Dr. Ismaiel Onifade and his executive has set machinery in motion to ensure a smooth run of the Qualifiers.
'Benin is always ready for the game and will give teams all the assistance to make their stay comfortable. It is our desire to see basketball in Benin move to the next level. The executive board of the Federation of Benin de Basketball is working round the clock in various areas to attract sponsors that will help us grow the game and move to the next level.
The qualifiers for the inaugural AfroLeague started in September and will run until mid-December while the Final Round will take place from January 11 to April 21, 2019, across different African cities.
The 16 qualified teams for the Round of 16 will be divided into 4 groups of 4 teams each and the competition will be played in a round-robin format with each team taking on its 3 opponent respectively.
And, the clubs that finish in the top 2 teams from each group advance to the Elite 8, where clubs will be divided into four groups of 2 teams each. The teams will play home-and-away games in the knock-out format.
Finally, the four winners from Elite 8 advance to the FINAL 4.
So far, clubs qualified for the FIBA AfroLeague include Al Ahly of Egypt - winners of the Zone 5 Qualifiers, Smouha (Egypt), both Primeiro D'Agosto and Petro de Luanda of Angola, and Ferroviario da Beira (Mozambique) who finished first, second and third, respectively, in Zone 6 Qualifiers.