ZEW - Centre for European Economic Research

10/04/2021 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 10/05/2021 06:12

Ministerial Director Dr. Hans Reiter Elected New Chairman

At its meeting on 4 October 2021, the supervisory board of the ZEW - Leibniz Centre for European Economic Research in Mannheim elected Dr. Hans J. Reiter as its new chair. Reiter has been ministerial director and head of the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts of the State of Baden-Württemberg since July 2021. Dr. Ralf Krieger, member of the executive board at Freudenberg SE, will continue to serve as vice-chair.

Dr. Hans Reiter studied law at the University of Mannheim, where he obtained his PhD after completing the first and second state law examinations. He was an officer and deputy head of unit at the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science before working as a researcher in the Enquete Commission "Reorganisation of Broadcasting" of the Baden-Württemberg State Parliament as well as in the State Ministry in the areas of broadcasting, media and film, where he eventually became unit head. After returning to the Ministry of Science, he headed the Department of Student Services and BAföG, the Department of Universities of Applied Sciences and then Department 1, which is responsible for finance, personnel, construction, IT and organisation in the Ministry of Science.

Further members of the ZEW Supervisory Board are: Heiko Engling, head of section at the Ministry of Finance of the State of Baden-Württemberg; Stephan Ertner, head of section at the Ministry of State Baden-Württemberg; Michael Kleiner, ministerial director at the Baden-Württemberg Ministry for Economic Affairs, Labour and Housing; Dr. Gitte Neubauer, director of Cellzome GmbH; Prof. Dr. Ingrid Ott, professor of economic policy at the Karlsruhe Institute for Technology (KIT); Prof. Dr. Thomas Puhl, University of Mannheim; Dr. Philipp Steinberg, ministerial director, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs; Gerhard Stratthaus, former finance minister; Prof. Dr. Peter Winker, Giessen University.