Bellarmine University

11/21/2019 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 11/21/2019 22:29

Scott named GLVC Freshman of the Year; O'Toole earns All-GLVC Second Team honors

- Rockhurst University senior attacker Karlie Reichert along with University of Missouri-St. Louis sophomore libero Megan Woll, Bellarmine University freshman attacker . and UMSL head coach Ryan Young have earned major postseason honors for the 2019 Great Lakes Valley Conference Volleyball season, it was announced by the league office Thursday evening. Reichert was voted by the league coaches as GLVC Player of the Year, while the Knights' Scott was picked as the Freshman of the Year, and the Tritons' Woll was Libero of the Year and her head coach Young was recognized by his peers as Coach of the Year.

Scott is Bellarmine's fifth newcomer credited with a postseason award, as junior middle hitter/right side teammate was the pick two seasons ago, Krista Gibson was honored in 2019, while Abbi Paine and Carrie Wentzel went back-to-back in 1996 and 1997. Jordyn Kuckenbrod also picked up three-straight Libero of the Year accolades from 2016-18, and Jaclyn Ohlmann was the Conference's inaugural Libero of the Year in 2013. Head coach was voted as Coach of the Year in 2017, and Kevin Payne won the same honor in 1991.

As the only freshman on the All-GLVC First Team, Scott bested all other attackers during regular season Conference matches in kills (251) and kills per set (4.83) through 52 sets played, as well as points (274.0) and points per set (5.27). In all 106 sets overall, the outside hitter ranked second in the loop in three categories, including kills (441), kills per set (4.16), and points per set (4.54). Moreover, her tallies for kills and kills per set respectively rank 14th and 15th in the nation for Division II. She also was effective on the back row with 324 digs on the season for an average of just over three per set. Scott's outstanding contributions offense and defense led to 17 double-doubles on the season.

The annual awards were presented Thursday at a reception on the eve of the GLVC Volleyball Championship Tournament. Also earning recognition from Bellarmine was junior setter , who picked up All-GLVC Second Team accolades. The Louisville native ranked fourth in the conference during the regular season with 10.89 assists per set, which ranks 21st nationally. She also was frequent double-double producer, notching 10 on the season.

A total of 24 other volleyball stars earned recognition from the GLVC coaches, as both a 14-member All-Conference First Team and a 14-member Second Team were also released on Thursday.

Of the 28 All-Conference selections, UMSL and Rockhurst led the way with five representatives apiece, while the Tritons had a league-high four first-team nods. University of Illinois Springfield had four on the Second Team, while University of Indianapolis and Lewis University followed with three each. Bellarmine and Drury picked up two, while McKendree University, Missouri S&T, Quincy University, and Truman State University all had one player honored.
Joining Reichert, Woll, and Scott on the First Team were unanimous picks in UIndy junior attacker Katie Furlong and senior setter Alyssa Spears, as well as UMSL junior setter Kaileen Herman and Rockhurst junior setter Dani Prusha. The Tritons also saw senior attacker Selena Nolte and sophomore attacker Charlotte Richards chosen, while Hawks senior attacker Alyssa Woodman made a repeat appearance on the team. Lewis earned two spots for senior attacker Colleen Wilhelm and junior attacker Ava Venema; S&T had senior attacker Emilee Schlader recognized; and Truman libero picked up a first-team merits for senior libero Lauren Wacker.

The league also recognized 16 GLVC James R. Spalding Sportsmanship Award nominees and one team award winner: Truman State. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These individuals must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The honorees are now eligible to become one of their school's two Spalding Sportsmanship Award winners, which will be announced at the end of the academic year.

A complete list of the All-Conference Teams and major postseason award winners follows below.

2019 GLVC Player of the Year: Karli Reichert, Sr., Attacker, Rockhurst
2019 GLVC Libero of the Year: Megan Woll, So., Missouri-St. Louis
2019 GLVC Freshman of the Year: , Attacker, Bellarmine
2019 GLVC Coach of the Year: Ryan Young, Missouri-St. Louis

, Fr., Attacker, BU
Colleen Wilhelm, Sr., Attacker, LEWIS
Ava Venema, Jr., Attacker, LEWIS
Emilee Schlader, Sr., Attacker, S&T
Selena Nolte, Sr., Attacker, UMSL
Charlotte Richards, So., Attacker, UMSL
Karli Reichert, Sr., Attacker, RU
Alyssa Woodman, Sr., Attacker, RU
DANI PRUSHA, Jr., Setter, RU
Lauren Wacker, Sr., Libero, TSU
, Jr., Setter, BU
Makina Wratten, So., Attacker, DU
Julia McCown, Fr., Attacker, DU
Becca Blakeley, So., Setter, UIS
Brianna Bush, Jr., Attacker, UIS
Jailyn Borum, Sr., Libero, UIS
Allison Splitt, Sr., Attacker, UIS
Taylor Jacquay, Jr., Attacker, UINDY
Alexandra Preuss, Sr., Attacker, LEWIS
Hope Gramly, So., Attacker, MCK
Kylie Rudsinski, Sr., Attacker, UMSL
Mary Rolf, Sr., Attacker, RU
Jadyn Makovicka, Fr., Libero, RU
Makayla Knoblauch, So., Setter, QU