South Dakota School of Mines & Technology Athletics

07/25/2019 | News release | Distributed by Public on 07/25/2019 11:35

SD Mines Volleyball Program Earns AVCA Team Academic Award

- The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) has announced that the South Dakota School of Mines women's volleyball program has earned the AVCA Team Academic Award for the 2018 season. The Hardrockers were among 1,126 teams to earn the high honor. This number breaks the previous year's total of 977 to set an all-time high. This past school year, the SD Mines women's volleyball team posted a team GPA of 3.51. The award, which was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year, honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point.

'This entire academic year I have watched these ladies study with an unparalleled dedication. Their commitment to time management and passion for their careers makes me extremely proud of them,' said Hardrocker women's volleyball head coach . 'Their ability to produce a 3.5 team GPA while simultaneously building a program through physical and mental training is just such a positive sign to where we will be a few years from now.'
The AVCA Team Academic Award has become one of the AVCA's fastest growing awards programs, seeing an impressive surge in teams honored over the past several years. Since the 2000-2001 season, the number of recipients has increased every single year but one, while amassing an overall 300 percent increase over the span of the last decade.

Over 1,000 different schools have earned the award in the program's 25-year history, with exactly 9,586 awards been given out in total.


NCAA Division I Women: 189 NCAA Division II Women: 142 NCAA Division III Women: 175 NAIA Women: 51 Two-Year College: 21 NCCAA: 1 Collegiate Men: 19 High School Girls: 444 (5 sand) High School Boys: 43 Collegiate Beach: 41
You can find 2018-19's list of recipients by clicking here.
You can find the Team Academic All-Time Record Book by clicking here.