Davis Cup

11/22/2021 | News release | Distributed by Public on 11/22/2021 11:36

All you need to know about the Davis Cup Finals

The cities of Madrid (Spain), Innsbruck (Austria) and Turin (Italy) are hosting the 2021 Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals, starting on Thursday 25 November, with 18 teams vying to become world champions.

The multi-site format, which is being introduced for the first time this year, will see each venue host two of the six groups. The winners of those groups, along with the two second-placed teams with the best records, will qualify for the quarter-finals.

Innsbruck and Turin will host one quarter-final each, while the last five days of competition will all take place in Madrid, with the Spanish capital staging two quarter-finals, both semi-finals, and the final on 5 December.

Due to measures taken by the Austrian government against the Covid-19 pandemic, all matches in Innsbruck will be played behind closed doors.

Venues and Groups

Madrid Arena, Madrid (ESP)

Group A: Spain, Russia Tennis Federation, Ecuador
Group B: Canada, Kazakhstan, Sweden

Olympia-Halle, Innsbruck (AUT)

Group C: France, Great Britain, Czech Republic
Group F: Serbia, Germany, Austria

Pala Alpitour Arena, Turin (ITA)

Group D: Croatia, Australia, Hungary
Group E: USA, Italy, Colombia

How the 18 teams reached the 2021 Finals

Four teams qualified automatically:

- Spain as 2019 Davis Cup champions
- Canada as 2019 Davis Cup runners-up
- Russian Tennis Federation as 2019 Davis Cup semi-finalists
- Great Britain as 2019 Davis Cup semi-finalists

Twelve teams advanced with victories in the Davis Cup Qualifiers which were played on 6-7 March 2020:

- Croatia defeated India 3-1 in Zagreb
- Hungary defeated Belgium 3-1 in Debrecen
- Colombia defeated Argentina 3-1 in Bogota
- United States defeated Uzbekistan 4-0 in Honolulu
- Australia defeat Brazil 3-1 in Adelaide
- Italy defeated South Korea 4-0 in Cagliari
- Germany defeated Belarus 4-1 in Dusseldorf
- Kazakhstan defeated Netherlands 3-1 in Nur-Sultan
- Czech Republic defeated Slovakia 3-1 in Bratislava
- Austria defeated Uruguay 3-1 in Premstatten
- Ecuador defeated Japan 3-0 in Miki
- Sweden defeated Chile 3-1 in Stockholm

Two teams were awarded wildcards:

- France
- Serbia

Format of ties

All ties will consist of two singles and one doubles. The first match will be contested by the second-ranked players on each team. The second match will be contested by the first-ranked players on each team. The doubles match will follow the singles matches. Nominations are announced one hour before the tie begins.

Who is playing?

World No. 1 Novak Djokovic leads the line for Serbia while No. 2 Daniil Medvedev spearheads a strong Russian Tennis Federation team which also includes Andrey Rublev, Aslan Karatsev and Karen Khachanov.

Defending champions Spain will be without the injured Rafael Nadal, but they have still named a formidable team, with Pablo Carreno Busta, Roberto Bautista Agut, rising star Carlos Alcaraz, Feliciano Lopez and Marcel Granollers all set to line up in Madrid.

Jannik Sinner is set to make his Davis Cup debut in Turin where his Italian side will be up against a United States team which includes Frances Tiafoe and Reilly Opelka.

Great Britain can call upon Cameron Norrie and Dan Evans, Croatia have the World No.1 doubles team in Nikola Mektic and Mate Pavic, and Australia have young guns Alex de Minaur and Alexei Popyrin in their ranks.

What happens after the 2021 Finals?

In 2022, the Davis Cup Finals will become a 16-team competition. Both finalists in 2021 will qualify automatically for the Finals in 2022. The remaining 16 teams from this year's Finals will join 10 nations from World Group I in the 2022 Qualifiers. From that pool of 26 nations, two will be selected as wildcards for the 2022 Finals, leaving 24 nations competing in the Qualifiers in March next year.

Previous winners

In total, 15 nations have won the Davis Cup since the event began in 1900, with twelve of those teams competing in the Finals this year.

Six nations - Ecuador, Colombia, Hungary, Canada, Kazakhstan and Austria - are aiming to win the competition for the first time.

USA are the most successful nation in Davis Cup history. The last of their 32 titles came in 2007.

Spain will bid to win back-to-back titles for the second time, first doing so in 2008-09.