EAC Invest A/S

09/21/2020 | News release | Distributed by Public on 09/21/2020 08:33

Immigration update: Italy | Latest updates on travel restrictions

Latest updates on travel restrictions

Who will be affected?

People who need to travel to/from Italy.


Due to the large outbreak of Covid-19 in Italy, new extraordinary laws were implemented and new restrictions/measures put in charge.


People who are supposed to travel to/from Italy must expect restrictions.


DPCM 7 September 2020 extends restrictions of DPCM 7 August 2020, until 07 October 2020 and divides countries in different typologies:

A countries: Republic of San Marino, Vatican

B countries: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Uk and Northern Ireland

C countries: Bulgaria, Romania

D countries: Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Rwanda, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay

E countries: all other countries not mentioned in other lists

F Countries: from 9 July 2020: Armenia, Bahrein, Bangladesh, Bosnia Erzegovina, Brazil, Chile, Kuwait, North Macedonia, Moldova, Oman, Panama, Perù, Dominican Republic. From 16 July 2020 Kosovo, Montenegro e Serbia and from 12 August 2020 also Colombia

Transfers from/to E countries, entrance and transit in Italy of people who stayed/transited in those countries 14 days prior the arrival in Italy, and transfers to F countris are forbidden unless with official declarations by law and documentation, are needed for: work, health, study, proved need, to reenter domicile/residence, to allow the entrance of citizens (and close family members) of Ue/Schengen countries, Andorra, Uk and Northern Ireland, Monaco, San Marino Republic and Vatican.

Entrance and transit in Italy of people who stayed/transited in F countries 14 days prior the arrival in Italy is forbidden unless they are citizens (and close family members) of Ue/Schengen countries, Andorra, Uk and Northern Ireland, Monaco, San Marino Republic and Vatican resident in Italy before the date mentioned in F list. Exceptions applies also to some very specific type of worker (consulates, military staff…)

Art. 5 states that people entering Italy from countries in list B, C, D, E and F must do a compulsory declaration by law accordingly to art 46 and 46 of law 445 of 28 December 2020 with compulsory information accordingly to the country of departure. People who stayed/transited 14 days prior thei arrival in Italy in countries in list C, D, E and F, even without sympotmps, must inform health authorities.

Ordenance 12 August 2020 by the Ministry of Health, states that people coming from and that stayed/transited in Croatia, Greece, Malta or Spain 14 days prior the arrival in Italy, must do 72 hours before the arrival, a swab with negative result or do it at the border in Italy at arrival or within 48 hours and be self quarantined at home. A compulsory communication to the authorities at arrival is mandatory and also in case symptoms arise.

Next Steps (or) Actions Required:

People who needs to travel to/outside Italy, must consider the new conditions and check with the airline further restrictions/travel bans.

Santa Fe Analysis:

Santa Fe will update about any relevant immigration update arising considering this scenario is continuously changing.
Should you have any questions, please contact the following:

Veronica Maggioni
Immigration Specialist
Santa Fe Relocation Italy
Tel.: +393483040948
Email: [email protected]

To read more immigration updates, click here

About our Immigration Services

Our immigration services manage thousands of visa applications every year for a multitude of international companies. Our experienced immigration experts and migration agents handle the immigration process for you and provide simple reporting and guidance on immigration matters.