Festival de Cannes

07/02/2020 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 07/02/2020 08:41

The Cinéfondation Selection 2020

The Cinéfondation Selection showcases short films produced by film students from around the world, and has been nurturing new generations of filmmakers since 1998, including Emmanuelle Bercot, Deniz Gamze Ergüven, Léa Mysius, Kornél Mundruczó, Claire Burger, Cãtãlin Mitulescu, Jessica Hausner, Corneliu Porumboiu, Annie Silverstein, Asif Kapadia, Pippa Bianco, Dani Rosenberg, Alice Furtado, Anna Cazenave Cambet, Etienne Kallos and Nadav Lapid.

Now in its 23rd edition, this year's selection comitee lead by Dimitra Karya features 17 films (13 narrative films and four animated films) by eleven men and eight women, selected from among the 1,952 works that were submitted by participating film schools. Israel, the United Kingdom, Argentina, Hungary, Romania, India, Switzerland, the United States, South Korea, France, Poland, Portugal, Germany and Slovenia are all represented this year, with the latter having been included in the selection for the very first time.

The screening of the Cinéfondation Selection, which culminates in the Jury awarding Prizes, will take place next autumn at the Palais des festivals in Cannes. The exact date and the names of the jury members will be revealed very soon.

As a reminder, 2019's Jury was chaired by Claire Denis and comprised of Eran Kolirin, Panos H. Koutras, Stacy Martin and Cătălin Mitulescu. That year, the Cinéfondation First Prize was awarded to a French school for the first time: the award went to Mano a Mano by Louise Courvoisier from Lyon's CinéFabrique.

This edition is dedicated to the memory of David Kessler (1959-2020), who supported and cherished the Cinéfondation.