SBK - Superbike World Championship

09/19/2021 | News release | Distributed by Public on 09/19/2021 07:01

Sofuoglu claims historic Race 2 victory in closest-ever WorldSSP300 finish

Just 0.003s separated the top two in Race 2 as WorldSSP300 had the closest finish in the Championship's history, while Kawasaki secured the Manufacturers' Championship

The final race of the FIM Supersport 300 World Championship's visit to the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya was a record-breaking race as Bahattin Sofuoglu (Biblion Yamaha Motoxracing) claimed victory by just 0.003s in Race 2 for the Hyundai N Catalunya Round, fending off Alvaro Diaz Cebrian (Arco-Motor University Team) in a drag race to the line.


The top five in the race were able to break away from the chasing pack in the first half of the race although as the second half of the race the secondary group was able to close the gap with a group of around 20 riders fighting for podiums and the race victory. With a few laps to go, Diez Cebrian made a move for the lead but was overhauled by Sofuoglu heading into the final lap, with the Turkish star claiming his first victory since the 2020 Teruel Round.

Diaz Cebrian claimed his first WorldSSP300 podium with second place and missed out on a sensational victory by the narrowest of margins, while Samuel Di Sora (Leader Team Flembbo) claimed third place as he returned to the rostrum. The French rider had been leading in the closing stages but finished in third place, just 0.096s from Sofuoglu. Di Sora was the lead Kawasaki rider in the race with his podium finish enough for Kawasaki to claim the Manufacturers' Championship with four races to spare.


Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) missed out on a podium place by four tenths but fourth place for the Championship leader meant he was able to extend his Championship lead over Tom Booth-Amos (Fusport - RT Motorsports by SKM - Kawasaki) after the British rider was declared unfit for Race 2 following a Race 1 crash, with Huertas extending his lead over Booth-Amos to 43 points.

Huertas' teammate, Yuta Okaya, claimed fifth place after fighting his way back from the middle of the grid finishing ahead of Dean Berta Viñales (Viñales Racing Team) in sixth; Viñales had finished the race in fifth place but was demoted one place for exceeding track limits on the final lap. Reigning Champion Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki) claimed seventh place, just over a second back from race leader Sofuoglu.


Meikon Kawakami (AD78 Team Brasil by MS Racing) was eighth after a strong showing for the Brazilian rider, finishing ahead of Alejandro Carrion (Kawasaki GP Project) and Inigo Iglesias (SMW Racing). Iglesias had crossed the line in ninth place, ahead of Carrion, but was demoted one place for exceeding track limits on the final lap of the 12-lap race.

Daniel Mogeda's (Team#109 Kawasaki) strong form since returning to WorldSSP300 continued with 11th place, finishing a tenth clear of Ruben Bijman (Machado Came SBK) in 12th place. Oliver König (Movisio by MIE) was in 13th place with Gabriele Mastroluca (ProGP Racing) and Harry Khouri (Fusport - RT Motorsports by SKM - Kawasaki) rounding out the points-paying positions.

It was a close battle for points with Jose Luis Perez Gonzalez (Accolade Smrz Racing) two tenths away from Khouri at the end of the race with Dorren Louriero (Fusport - RT Motorsports by SKM - Kawasaki) a further two tenths back.


Sylvain Markarian (Leader Team Flembbo) had a crash on Lap 2 at Turn 5 which forced him to retire from the race, while Ton Kawakami (AD78 Team Brasil by MS Racing) was out of the race after a crash at Turn 10 which forced Victor Steeman (Freudenberg KTM WorldSSP Team) to take avoiding action into the gravel. Petr Svoboda (WRP Wepol Racing) had a crash at Turn 4 on Lap 4 which forced the Czech rider out of the race. Joel Romero (SMW Racing) crashed out of the race at Turn 11 which forced the Argentinean rider out of the race.

Mirko Gennai (Team BRcorse) and Yeray Ruiz (Yamaha MS Racing) had a collision on the braking zone into Turn 10 which forced both riders out of the race, while Mika Perez's (Prodina Team WorldSSP300) came to an early end as well. Marc Garcia (Prodina Team WorldSSP300) crashed out of the race on the final lap while battling in the lead group with the 2017 Champion not classified at the end of the race.

The top six following WorldSSP300 Race 2, full results here :

1. Bahattin Sofuoglu (Biblion Yamaha Motoxracing)

2. Alvaro Diaz Cebrian (Arco-motor University Team) +0.003s

3. Samuel Di Sora (Leader Team Flembbo) +0.099s

4. Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) +0.488s

5. Yuta Okaya (MTM Kawasaki) +1.070s

6. Dean Berta Viñales (Viñales Racing Team) +1.070s

Alvaro Diaz Cebrian (Yamaha): 1'55.145 (New Lap Record)

Championship standings

1 Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) 201

2. Tom Booth-Amos (Fusport - RT Motorsports by SKM) 158

3. Jeffrey Buis (MTM Kawasaki) 136

4. Samuel Di Sora (Leader Team Flembbo) 113

5. Yuta Okaya (MTM Kawasaki) 87

6. Bahattin Sofuoglu (Biblion Yamaha Motoxracing) 77

Watch the WorldSSP300 title battle unfold using the WorldSBK VideoPass!