Arkansas Tech University

04/16/2018 | News release | Distributed by Public on 04/16/2018 14:02

Arka Tech Newspaper Wins 39 ACMA Awards

The Arka Tech, student newspaper at Arkansas Tech University, collected 39 awards at the 2018 Arkansas College Media Association (ACMA) Conference at Henderson State University in Arkadelphia earlier this month.

Amber Quaid, co-editor-in-chief for the Arka Tech, was named 2018 ACMA editor of the year and the staff earned third place in newspaper of the year.

'I am extremely proud of our student staffers and these awards speak to their commitment, dedication and hard work,' said Tommy Mumert, Arka Tech advisor and assistant professor of journalism at ATU. 'They have been led by an excellent editor who was certainly deserving of the editor of the year award.'

Quaid had previously been named 2017 ACMA designer of the year. She is completing her third year on the Arka Tech staff.

'I could not have received this award without the amazing team that I work with,' said Quaid. 'It's because I have the support and hard work from my team that I am able to do what I love. I am honored and proud of this award because it shows all of this.'

Below is a complete listing of the Arka Tech's 2018 ACMA awards:

  • Amber Appleby: First Place, Online Topical Reporting; Second Place, Online Topical Reporting; Third Place, Online Topical Reporting, Review Writing and General Column
  • Gabbi Calabrese: Honorable Mention, Online Entertainment Writing
  • Matthew Emery: First Place, Online Entertainment Writing; Second Place, Editorial Writing; Third Place, Sports Story and Online Sports Writing
  • Laykn Kidd: Third Place, News Photo
  • Ricci Logan: First Place, Sports Photo, Online Sports Photo and Online Spot News Photo; Second Place, Sports Feature and Sports Photo; Third Place, Online Sports Photo and Sports Column
  • Amber Quaid: First Place, Editorial Writing, Online Meeting/Speech Coverage and Advertising; Second Place, Feature Page Layout, Online Editorials, Advertising, Sports Page Layout, Art/Illustration and Online Entertainment Writing; Third Place, Front Page Layout, Feature Page Layout, Spot News Photo, Editorial Page Layout, Online News Photo and Sports Page Layout
  • Bruce Thomas: First Place, Online Headlines
  • Dale Quaid: Third Place, Headlines
  • Karly Williams: First Place, Editorial Cartoon
  • Claudia Young: Third place, Online Personality Profile

Learn more about the ATU Department of Journalism and Communication.