Ministry of Foreign Affairs and European Integration of the Croatian Republic

11/04/2020 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 11/04/2020 05:34

Commemorating 70th anniversary of European Convention on Human Rights

The Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms, also known as the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR), was signed on 4 November 1950 in Rome by then 12 member states of the Council of Europe and entered into force in 1953.

Croatia joined the Council of Europe on 6 November 1996 and ratified the ECHR on 5 November 1997, making it a part of Croatia's internal legal order in accordance with Article 141 of the Croatian Constitution. As such, Croatia actively participates in the intergovernmental cooperation among the member states and maintains close cooperation with CoE experts. Furthermore, Croatia is continuously aligning its national legislature and practices with the common European democratic standards with the aim of further protection and wellbeing of all its citizens.