FSA - Farm Service Agency

02/22/2021 | Press release | Archived content

USDA Designates Kent County, Delaware, as a Primary Natural Disaster Area

Contact: [email protected]

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, Feb. 22, 2021 - The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) designated Kent County, Delaware, as a primary natural disaster area. Producers who suffered losses due to excessive rain from Aug. 1 through Sept. 1, 2020, may be eligible for USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous counties listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

  • Delaware: New Castle and Sussex
  • Maryland: Caroline, Kent and Queen Anne's
  • New Jersey: Cumberland and Salem

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Oct. 12, 2021.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.