Southeast Georgia Health System

02/10/2017 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 02/17/2017 12:08

Living Well With Diabetes: Free Classes Offered in March

February 10, 2017 - Stopping diabetes by helping people understand their risk for developing Type 2 diabetes is the ultimate goal of the American Diabetes Association's Diabetes Alert Day on Tuesday, March 28. It also spotlights the 29 million Americans-and their families-already living with diabetes. To increase awareness and help patients with diabetes better manage their disease, Southeast Georgia Health System is offering a series of four free classes in March on the Brunswick and Camden campuses.

'One in 11 Americans are living with diabetes today,' says Sue Ullrich, R.N., MA.Ed., diabetes program coordinator and certified diabetes educator (CDE). 'People living with diabetes day-to-day need a good understanding of how to self-manage their disease for a healthy quality of life. Doing so also decreases the risk of complications associated with diabetes including kidney disease, blindness, heart attack, stroke, nerve damage and infections leading to amputation.'

The class schedule includes:

Session 1: On the Road to Better Managing Your Diabetes, 2 hours

Brunswick: Monday, March 6, 1:30 p.m.

Camden: Wednesday, March 8, 9 a.m.
Brunswick: Thursday, March 9, 5:30 p.m.

Session 2: Monitoring Your Blood Glucose, 2 hours

Brunswick: Monday, March 13, 1:30 p.m.

Camden: Wednesday, March 15, 9 a.m.
Brunswick: Thursday, March 16, 5:30 p.m.

Session 3: Diabetes and Healthy Eating, 3 hours

Brunswick: Monday, March 20, 1:30 p.m.

Camden: Wednesday, March 22, 9 a.m.
Brunswick: Thursday, March 23, 5:30 p.m.

Session 4: Continuing on Your Journey with Diabetes, 2 hours

Brunswick: Monday, March 27, 1:30 p.m.

Camden: Wednesday, March 29, 9 a.m.
Brunswick: Thursday, March 30, 5:30 p.m.

Although there is no cost to attend the March classes, a physician referral is required, along with advance registration by Friday, March 3. To reserve your seat, please call Diabetes Education in Brunswick at 912-466-1689 or Camden at 912-576-6488. Classes are taught by Sue Ullrich, R.N., MA.Ed., CDE, or Christina Miller, R.N., CDE. The Health System's outpatient diabetes education program has been recognized by the American Diabetes Association for providing Quality Self-Management Education and Support.