National Cotton Council of America

02/11/2019 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 02/11/2019 12:16

Wes Morgan to Lead National Cotton Ginners Association

MEMPHIS, Tenn. - The Memphis-based National Cotton Ginners Association (NCGA) elected its 2019 officers on February 8 during its annual meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

The new slate is: president - Wes Morgan, New London, N.C.; first vice president - Curtis Stewart, Spade, Texas; second vice president - George LaCour, Jr., Morganza, La.; third vice president - Gene Seale, Pima, Ariz.; and chairman - Stanley Creelman, Tulare, California. Harrison Ashley of Cordova, Tenn., serves as NCGA's executive vice president.

Morgan, who graduated top of his class at King's College in Charlotte, N.C. in 1987, is manager of Rolling Hills Gin, LLC, in New London.

Having served on and chaired multiple NCGA committees, Morgan currently chairs the NCGA's Legislative Committee and its Air Quality Subcommittee. He also is chairman of Southeastern Cotton Ginners. Morgan was a participant in the National Cotton Council's (NCC) 2016 Emerging Leaders Program, and currently serves as a NCC director and as a member of the NCC's Cotton Flow Committee and Quality Task Force.

Also announced at NCGA's annual meeting was that Kirk Gilkey, manager of the Cross-Creek II Gin in Corcoran, Calif., is the 2018 Horace Hayden National Cotton Ginner of the Year.

In addition, Dr. Ed Barnes, senior director for Cotton Incorporated's Agricultural and Environmental Research Division in Cary, N.C., received the NCGA's 2018-19 Charles C. Owen Distinguished Service Award.