Government of the Republic of Montenegro

11/30/2021 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 11/30/2021 07:31

PM Krivokapić meets with Director for the Western Balkans in the German Foreign Office

Published on: Nov 30, 2021 12:30 PM Author: Office of the Prime Minister

Prime Minister Zdravko Krivokapić met today with Director for South-Eastern Europe, Turkey, EFTA States, OSCE and Council of Europe in the German Federal Foreign Office Susanne Schütz.

Prime Minister Krivokapić said that the Government wants to join the European Union at an accelerated pace. EU membership is our strategic goal, on which Montenegro consistently works and invests maximum efforts, the Prime Minister pointed out.

The Prime Minister thanked Director Schütz for the continuous support that Germany provides to Montenegro on its European path. Prime Minister Krivokapić said that the Government is committed to reforms in the area of the rule of law, emphasising that the special focus is on achieving concrete results in the fight against organised crime and corruption. PM Krivokapić also informed his interlocutor about the reform programmes of the Government, emphasising that the Government's goal is to grow democracy, civic and ecological Montenegro through economic development.

Director Schütz said that she was happy that Montenegro is the most advanced country in the EU accession negotiations. She pointed out that Germany is closely monitoring the development of the situation in all countries of the Western Balkans, emphasising that additional efforts are necessary in order to speed up its progress on EU path.

We want Montenegro to stay on the Euro-Atlantic path, and we hope that it will make rapid progress, because that is important, both for your country and for the region, Schütz said.

The officials agreed that the Berlin Process is of exceptional importance for the countries of the Western Balkans, and that it has an irreplaceable role in strengthening regional cooperation and connecting the countries of the region with the EU.