FIA - Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile

06/07/2019 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 06/07/2019 07:51

WRC - Rally Italia Sardegna - Preview

Rally Italia Sardegna hosts round eight of the 2019 FIA World Rally Championship.

With little time to relax after an eventful round in Portugal, the FIA World Rally Championship contenders are preparing for another hot, dry and dusty gravel encounter on round eight of the 2019 season, Rally Italia Sardegna (13-16 June).

The sunny Mediterranean island of Sardinia has hosted the Italian stop of the series since 2004, and the historic harbour in the town of Alghero will once again provide a picturesque setting for the WRC service park. Beside the scorching heat, the crews will face the challenge of fast but narrow stages that are lined with rocks and bushes.

With the season now at the halfway point, the championship battle remains extremely close, with the top three drivers - each representing a different manufacturer - separated by only 10 points. As the championship leader, Sébastien Ogier is tasked with opening the sand-covered roads on Friday in his C3 WRC. The Frenchman only has a fragile two-point advantage over Toyota's Ott Tänak, who could make it a hat-trick on his 100th FIA WRC career start after back-to-back wins in Chile and Portugal. Thierry Neuville is third for Hyundai, just eight points behind Tänak.

Alongside the four factory teams, the World Rally car line-up will be swelled by a fourth Toyota Yaris, with Juho Hänninen making his competitive return in an additional Tommi Mäkinen Racing entry.

Four cars are entered for FIA WRC 2 Pro: Kalle Rovanperä and Jan Kopecký for ŠKODA, Mads Østberg for Citroën and M-Sport's Gus Greensmith, who will return back behind the wheel of his Ford Fiesta R5 after his maiden test in a World Rally car in Portugal last week. A large 94-car entry for the event also features a high-level FIA WRC 2 field and the return of the FIA Junior WRC crews for the third round of 2019 in two-wheel drive cars.


While the itinerary is almost identical to 2018, a number of small modifications to familiar stages have been added to create just over 20 kilometres of new roads. A super special stage around the Ittiri motocross circuit near Alghero kicks off the action on Thursday night before two loops of four stages will be held to the north-east of the island on Friday. Saturday's three stages (each run twice) to the east will include Monte Lerno and its iconic Micky's Jump. Sunday consists of two repeated stages near the coast north of Alghero.


The Accreditation Centre is located in the Media Center at the Rally HQ, Lu Qualté, Alghero

The opening hours are:
Tuesday 11 June: 14:00 - 20:00
Wednesday 12 June: 08:00 - 21:00
Thursday 13 June: 07:00 - 21:00
Friday 14 June: 06:30 - 14:00


Wednesday 12 June
Mandatory media safety briefing, Photographers' Room, Media Center 17:00 hrs
Thursday 13 June
Mandatory shakedown for P1 & P2P, Olmedo 09:00 - 10:30 hrs
Shakedown for P1, P2P, P2 & P3, Olmedo 10:30 - 12:30 hrs
Shakedown (others), Olmedo 12:30 - 14:00 hrs
'Meet the Crews' Top 3 Shakedown, WRC stage at Rally SP, Alghero 13:00 hrs
Photo-shoot 'family photo' P1 crews, WRC stage at Rally SP, Alghero 13:30
FIA Press Conference, Press Room, Media Center, Rally HQ Lu Qualté, Algh. 13:45 hrs
Start of the rally (section 1), Bastioni Magellano, Alghero 16:00 hrs
Autograph session for P1 crews, + Rovanperä/Halttunen (P2P)
& Anfolfi/Scattolin (P2), WRC stage at Rally SP, Alghero 17:40 - 18:20
Friday 14 June
First car arrives for regroup, media zone & service, Rally SP, Alghero 11:54 hrs
First car arrives for regroup, media zone & final service, Rally SP, Alghero 18:33 hrs
'Meet the Crews' post-Leg 1, WRC stage at Rally SP, Alghero During the 45' service
Saturday 15 June
First car arrives for regroup, media zone & service, Rally SP, Alghero 12:35 hrs
First car arrives for media zone, regroup & final service, Rally SP, Alghero 20:35 hrs
'Meet the Crews' post-Leg 2, WRC stage at Rally SP, Alghero During the 45' service
Sunday 16 June
Regroup, La Pedraia 08:36 hrs
Regroup, Porto Torres 09:56 hrs
Regroup before Power Stage, La Pedraia 11:36 hrs
Rally finish, Largo Bousquets 13:25 hrs
Podium Ceremony & Price Giving, Bastioni Magellano, Alghero 15:00 hrs
FIA Press Conference, Press Room, Media Center, Rally HQ Lu Qualté, Algh 16:00 hrs


Thursday 13 June FIA WRC
Thierry Neuville (BEL), Hyundai Shell Mobis World Rally Team
Kris Meeke (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team
Teemu Suninen (FIN), M-Sport Ford World Rally Team
Esapekka Lappi (FIN), Citroën Total World Rally Team
Kalle Rovanperä (FIN), Škoda Motorsport
Mads Østberg (NOR), Citroën Total
Fabio Andolfi (ITA)
Nikolay Gryazin (RUS)
Julius Tannert (DEU)
Enrico Oldrati (ITA)
Sunday 16 June Winning FIA WRC 2 Pro Championship crew
Winning FIA WRC 2 Championship crew
Winning FIA Junior WRC Championship crew
Top three crews in the overall classification
Representative of the winning manufacturer


Citroën Total WRT Sébastien Ogier / Julien Ingrassia (#1)
Esapekka Lappi / Janne Ferm (#4)
Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Thierry Neuville / Nicolas Gilsoul (#11)
Andreas Mikkelsen / Anders Jaeger-Amland (#89)
Dani Sordo / Carlos Del Barrio (#6)
M-Sport Ford WRT Elfyn Evans / Scott Martin (#33)
Teemu Suninen / Marko Salminen (#3)
Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Ott Tänak / Martin Järveoja (#8)
Kris Meeke / Sebastian Marshall (#5)
Jari-Matti Latvala / Miikka Anttila (#10)


The provisional classifications for all the WRC Championships is available on the following link: