Technion - Israel Institute of Technology

01/30/2018 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 01/30/2018 11:01

2017 Harvey Prize Winners Announced

The Technion will award the prestigious Harvey Prize to Professor Tobin Marks for breakthroughs in chemistry and to Professor Carla Shatz for her discoveries in the development of visual neural circuits

On June 10, 2018, the Technion will award the 2017 Harvey Prize in Science and Technology to Professor Tobin Marks from Northwestern University (USA) and to Professor Carla Shatz from Stanford University (USA). The 75,000 dollar prize, named after Leo Harvey (1887-1973), was established in 1972 as a bridge of good will between Israel and other nations, and is granted annually to men and women who have made significant contributions to humankind. Approximately 20% of the prize winners later became Nobel laureates. Shortly after winning last year's Harvey Prize, Professor Emeritus Rainer Weiss and Professor Emeritus Kip Stephen Thorne, who led the discovery of gravitational waves in 2015 in the framework of the LIGO collaboration, were granted the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Far-reaching effect of modern chemistry

Professor Tobin J. Marks


Professor Tobin J. Markswill receive the prize for his ground-breaking research, of both fundamental and practical significance, in the areas of catalysis, organo-f-element chemistry, electronic and photonic materials, and coordination chemistry, which have strongly impacted contemporary chemical science.

Professor Marks, born in 1944, is a professor in the Department of Chemistry at Northwestern University. He completed his BSc in Chemistry at the University of Maryland in 1966 and his PhD at MIT, in 1971. Throughout his academic career, he was awarded many prizes, including the Karl Ziegler Prize, granted by the German Chemical Society, and the Priestley Medal, National Science Medal of the USA. In 2011, he won the Schulich Award, awarded by the Technion.

Professor Marks is a world-renowned expert in many fields, including catalysis, printed electronics and solar energy conversion devices. He developed a variety of recyclable plastics, screens, electronic components and cells for conversion of solar energy to electricity. His specialties include polymer and metal chemistry, photonic materials, super-conductors and organometallics.

Plasticity of the early development of vision

Professor Carla J. Shatz


Professor Carla J. Shatzwill receive the prize for her discoveries concerning the emergence and function of brain circuits for vision. Her major contributions include fundamental discoveries about how brain circuits in the developing visual system are fine-tuned with experience and neural activity. These outstanding molecular and circuit level findings have therapeutic implications for treating memory loss in the aging and in neurodevelopmental diseases.

Professor Shatz, born in 1947, is a professor of biology and neurobiology at Stanford University. She completed her BSc in Chemistry in Radcliffe College, which operates today as a part of Harvard University. Her M.Phil Physiology was completed at the University College London and her PhD in neurobiology at the Harvard School of Medicine, in 1976. Her doctorate at Harvard was mentored by Professors David Hubel and Torsten Wiesel, the 1981 Nobel Prize for Medicine laureates. She was the first woman to receive a doctorate in neurobiology at Harvard. She is a member many professional societies, including the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and has been awarded numerous prizes in neuroscience, including the Gerard Prize, Gruber Prize and Kavli Prize.