Results

NPS - National Park Service

11/27/2020 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 11/27/2020 20:25

National Park Service Hosts Virtual Programs to Commemorate 75th Anniversary of the End of WWII

Date:
November 27, 2020
Contact:Hanako Wakatsuki, 808-422-3315

HONOLULU - To complement the National Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day 79th Anniversary Commemoration Ceremony, the National Park Service (NPS) will host a series of virtual public programs, across seven days beginning November 30 to share information about World War II history.

These programs are free to the public and will set the virtual stage for the National Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day 79th Anniversary Commemoration Ceremony. This year's ceremony will be live-streamed December 7 on the Pearl Harbor National Memorial's Facebook page and on www.pearlharborevents.com in partnership with Defense Media Activity.

'In our effort to bring the remembrance of the pivotal events of WWII to a wider audience, Pearl Harbor National Memorial and its partners are excited to offer these virtual field trips and education programs,' said Scott Burch, Acting Superintendent of Pearl Harbor National Memorial. 'I invite everyone to join us for these very special opportunities.'

From November 30-December 4, the NPS will cohost five virtual field trips with the National WWII Museum in New Orleans. The Remember Pearl Harbor virtual field trip will discuss the historical conditions that lead up to the attack on Pearl Harbor and reasons why the event remains an important part of history today. These fieldtrips are intended for 4th-8th graders. Up to 500 students can be accommodated per day and teachers can register their class in advance online. Days and times for the field trips are:

  • November 30: 11am HST/1pm PST/2pm MDT/3pm CST/4pm EDT
  • December 1: 8am HST/10am PST/11am MDT/12pm CST/1pm EDT
  • December 2: 11am HST/1pm PST/2pm MDT/3pm CST/4pm EDT
  • December 3: 8am HST/10am PST/11am MDT/12pm CST/1pm EDT
  • December 4: 11am HST/1pm PST/2pm MDT/3pm CST/4pm EDT

From December 4-6, the NPS will host Beyond Pearl Harbor: Untold Stories of WWII, a virtual event exploring a broader story of the WWII experience. This program will feature other WWII sites the NPS manages across the nation including Pearl Harbor National Memorial, Rosie the Riveter WWII Homefront National Historic Park, Golden Gate National Recreation Area (Presidio), Tuskegee Institute National Historic Site, Port Chicago Naval Magazine National Memorial, Minidoka National Historic Site, Manzanar National Historic Site, Tule Lake National Monument, Honouliuli National Monument, Bainbridge Island Unit, and Manhattan Project National Historic Park.

The program will cover different aspects of WWII and will include a film festival, education sessions, and eight live programs over the course of the weekend to showcase the war effort on the home front and on the war front. The opening ceremony will be on December 4, 2020 at 4pm HST/6pm PST. The live programs will run December 5 and 6 at 10am HST/12pm PST/3pm HST, 12pm HST/2pm PST/5pm EST, 2pm HST/4pm PST/7pm EST, and 4pm HST/6pm PST/9pm EST. A schedule of events and more information about the programs can be found on-line.

The NPS is working with several groups to host these virtual events, including the Pacific Historic Parks, National WWII Museum, Smithsonian American History Museum, Smithsonian Air and Space Museum, Defense POW/MIA Accounting Agency, Pearl Harbor Aviation Museum, and NHK World-Japan.