City of Burleson , TX

06/19/2017 | News release | Distributed by Public on 06/19/2017 12:02

Election results for June 17, 2017 City Council Runoff Election

The winner of the runoff election for Place 4 on the Burleson City Council is Todd Hulsey. Hulsey earned 54.37 percent of the votes. Pam Grant Tatum brought in 45.63 percent.

Place 4

  • Pam Grant Tatum: 282 total votes
  • Todd Hulsey: 336 total votes

In the May 6, 2017, council election - a three-way race for Place 4 - Tatum earned 38.27 percent, Hulsey received 42.73 percent, Shannan Sutter received 19 percent. In order to win the seat outright in May, the person with the highest number of votes would have had to earn 50 percent of the total vote, plus one.

Incumbent Ken Shetter received 58.78 percent of the total vote in May to win the Mayor seat outright. Katherine Reading brought in 34.86 percent and John Garrison received 6.36 percent to round out the mayoral race.

Place 2 Incumbent Rick Green kept his seat when he earned 55.82 percent of the vote in the May election. Roman Pscheidt received 4.13 percent, KJ Topinka brought in 3.63 percent, Robert Boot garnered 10.76 percent and Brooke Wilson received 25.65 percent.

Incumbent Ronnie Johnson kept his Place 6 seat when he earned 58.55 percent of the vote in May to challenger Jason Morse's 41.45 percent.

Mayor Ken Shetter, Councilmen Rick Green in Place 2 and Councilmen Ronnie Johnson in Place 6 were sworn into their new three-year terms on May 22.

A special meeting to canvas the election and swear in Place 4 Todd Hulsey will be held at 9 a.m., June 26 in the council chambers at City Hall, 141 W. Renfro.