Mississippi Emergency Management Agency

06/10/2024 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 06/10/2024 19:13

Governor Reeves’ Request for Individual Assistance Approved by White House

JACKSON, Miss. - Governor Tate Reeves' request for Individual Assistance for counties affected by the April 8-11 severe weather and tornadoes was approved by the White House. During that time the state experienced 13 tornadoes, severe storms, flooding, and straight-line winds. Two deaths were attributed to those storms. There are six counties approved for Individual Assistance.

Individual Assistance was approved for Hancock, Hinds, Humphreys, Madison, Neshoba, and Scott counties. Individual assistance is available to residents in those six counties and can include grants for temporary housing, home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of this disaster.

Residents in the approved counties who sustained losses during the April 8-11 severe weather can now apply for assistance by registering online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The disaster Number is: DR-4790.