AFGJ - Alliance for Global Justice

05/18/2021 | News release | Distributed by Public on 05/18/2021 05:23

Amazing Advances on Nicaragua’s Caribbean Coast: Discrediting US Media Attacks

WEBINAR SUNDAY, MAY 23

Amazing Advances on Nicaragua's Caribbean Coast:

Discrediting US Media Attacks

12 PM Pacific / 1 PM Nicaragua / 3 PM Eastern / 8 PM UK / 9 PM W. Europe

Join us! Ambassador Francisco Campbell and Rick Sterling are the featured speakers at this 75-minute Zoom webinar. Nan McCurdy will also update us briefly on recent Nicaraguan news. Attendees can address questions to the speakers, and the recorded event will be shared afterward with registrants.

The webinar will focus on the Caribbean side of Nicaragua, where there have been remarkable advances in recent years, including new highways and hospitals. Ambassador Campbell will describe these achievements in greater detail.

Unfortunately, such success has not prevented US media attacks - for example, alleging the Nicaraguan government has failed to protect indigenous people from land encroachment by cattle ranchers. Rick Sterling will discuss how these attacks are being promoted by billionaire-financed foundations and provide contrary evidence based on recent interviews with indigenous leaders and other Caribbean residents.

About the speakers:

Francisco Campbell has been the Nicaraguan Ambassador to the United States since 2010; prior to that he served as deputy to the Central American Parliament. He is an experienced diplomat and academic who previously served in Nicaragua's embassy in the early 1980s, followed by serving as Nicaragua's Ambassador to Zimbabwe from 1986 to 1990. He is a founding member of the Foundation for Autonomy and Development of the Atlantic Coast of Nicaragua (FADCANIC); The Center for Human Civil and Autonomous Rights of the Nicaragua Caribbean Coast (CEDEHCA); and the University of the Autonomous Regions of the Nicaragua Caribbean Coast (URACCAN), where he was Vice-Chancellor General from 1992 to 1996.

Rick Sterling is board president of the San Francisco-based Task Force on the Americas. He has researched and written articles on Latin America, Palestine, Syria, and higher education. After a career as an engineer, he now works full-time for progressive international causes.

This is the May event in a monthly webinar series on Nicaragua. Additional organizational sponsors are welcome. Contact [email protected] to sign on.

Current sponsors:
Alliance for Global Justice
Casa Baltimore/Limay
Chicago ALBA Solidarity
IRTF Cleveland
Friends of Sandinista Nicaragua
Friends of Latin America
Friends of the ATC
Nicaragua Solidarity Campaign
Task Force on the Americas
Council on Hemispheric Affairs