Lamar University

04/17/2024 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 04/17/2024 00:06

LU Collegiate 100 inducts Esteemed 19 to chapter

The "Esteemed 19" are the newest cohort to join the Lamar University Collegiate 100 chapter.

Advised by educational leadership professor, Dr. Kathryn Washington, the organization welcomed its newest members at their induction ceremony on February 28.

The Collegiate 100 is a campus-based student organization which strives to inspire the next generation through mentoring, education, economic development, and wellness. The group is currently comprised of 48 members - a growth Washington is proud to see since her original "Magnificent 7" established the chapter in 2021.

"They've swiftly established a reputation for themselves, and with each new member, we amplify our impact both on and off campus, reaching further into the community and beyond," Washington said.

New members include:

  • Samone Hughes, Junior - Health Science
  • Alayij McDaneil, Sophomore - Social Work
  • Alexis Houston, Junior - Exercise Science
  • Princess Pattons, Junior - Nursing
  • Kadence Garlington, Junior - Construction Management
  • Jasmine Guillory, Sophomore - Nutrition
  • Kyreena Oderbert-Goudeau, Freshman - Political Science
  • Lindsey Lafleur, Junior - Pre-Nursing
  • Axel Alvarez Jr., Junior - Biology/Chemistry
  • Fadima Tall, Sophomore - Nursing
  • Destiny Cluff, Senior - Pre-Nursing
  • Makayla Alexander, Junior - Nursing
  • Chelsea Barclay, Senior - Chemical Engineering
  • Harvest Prater, Sophomore - Speech and Hearing Sciences
  • De'Eboni Spates, Senior - Forensic Chemistry
  • Jada Bowie-Coleman, Senior - Public Health in Healthcare Administration
  • Michelle Lane, Sophomore - Exercise Science
  • Autumn Johnson - Nursing
  • Regori Mcgill, Sophomore - Political Science

Jonathan Williams, founder and artistic director of the Jonathan Williams Center for the Performing Arts (JWCPA), presented as the keynote speaker, and two members were awarded the Edwin E. Valley Scholarship.

This year, junior biology students Bria Moneaux and Jordan Nelson were presented with $1,500 scholarships.

"They both exhibit unwavering dedication, consistently going above and beyond inside and outside the classroom to propel the organization forward. Their relentless commitment to our shared objectives makes them highly deserving candidates for the Edwin E. Vallery scholarship," Washington said about the recipients.

To be considered for the scholarship, applicants must be members of the Collegiate 100, full-time students, andmaintain a minimum 2.5 GPA. Recipients are selected based on their involvement and participation within the organization.

"Having been awarded the scholarship has, and will, move mountains regarding my financial and academic affairs here at Lamar University and beyond," Nelson said. "It inspires not only myself, but my peers to continue exemplifying excellence, integrity, and a willingness to keep learning as we strive to be catalysts for reform -- both inside and outside of Lamar University and our community."

Moneaux and Nelson credit the organization with providing them with a vast range of opportunities to grow professionally and build relationships with peers and mentors.

"This organization has not only shown me the importance of effective followership and leadership but also enhanced my public speaking skills, enabling me to express my ideas with greater confidence," Moneaux said.

Moneaux and Nelson hold titles of president and vice president, respectively.

"As the advisor to the organization, my ultimate aim is to foster its growth and ensure its members graduate," Washington said. "Throughout this journey, I aspire to provide them with abundant opportunities and experiences, nurturing them to become the future leaders of the Cardinal community."