Results

NASA - The National Aeronautics and Space Administration

09/27/2021 | News release | Distributed by Public on 09/27/2021 08:06

Weather 90% Favorable for Today’s Launch

NASA is targeting 11:12 a.m. PDT (2:12 p.m. EDT) today, Sept. 27, for launch of Landsat 9. The launch window is 30 minutes. The NASA-U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Landsat 9 Earth-monitoring satellite will lift off atop a United Launch Alliance Atlas V rocket from Space Launch Complex-3 at Vandenberg Space Force Base in California.

Weather officials with the U.S. Space Force's Space Launch Delta 30 are predicting a 90% chance of favorable weather conditions for today's launch, with ground winds serving as the primary weather concern.

Landsat 9 will continue the legacy of monitoring Earth's land and coastal regions that began with the first Landsat satellite in 1972. Images from Landsat 9 will be added to nearly 50 years of free and publicly available data from the mission - the longest data record of Earth's landscapes taken from space.

Beginning at 10:30 a.m. PDT (1:30 p.m. EDT), join us here on the blog for live coverage, and follow along on NASA TV or the agency's website for the live launch broadcast.