A.T. Still University

06/06/2024 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 06/06/2024 11:54

ATSU-ASHS presents faculty awards to Story, Maldonado De la Rosa, Kays, Doubblestein

ATSU-ASHS presents faculty awards to Story, Maldonado De la Rosa, Kays, Doubblestein

Posted: June 6, 2024
ATSU-ASHS Dean Dr. Burch and Dr. Story pose with Bucky at the ATSU Spring Expo.

A.T. Still University's Arizona School of Health Sciences (ATSU-ASHS) Dean Ann Lee Burch, PT, MPH, EdD presented faculty awards during the ATSU-ASHS faculty assembly on May 13, 2024.

Faculty members were nominated and selected by their colleagues for contributions during the 2023-2024 academic year. The following list includes the award name, award recipient, and quotes from nominating colleagues.

2024 ASHS Junior Faculty of the Year Award: Adam Story, PT, DPT, OTR/L, OTD, MTC

"Dr. Story is instrumental in organizing the ATSU Spring Expo every year. He designed a project called the 'Ingenuity Lab' for students striving to improve upon their clinical reasoning skills. Dr. Story leads the OT orthopedic surgery observations, which provide students with the opportunity to sit in on hip and knee surgeries for future work with patients pre- and post-surgery. Dr. Story works in collaboration with the Speech-Language Pathology program to provide a novel interprofessional educational experience to students at ATSU's Clinical Performance Center with standardized patients."

2024 ASHS Faculty Service of the Year Award: Ivonne Maldonado De la Rosa, PhD, CCC-SLP

"Dr. Maldonado De la Rosa serves as the treasurer of the Arizona Speech-Language and Hearing Association (ArSHA) and the Hispanic Caucus of the American Speech-Language and Hearing Association (ASHS), the ASHS 2024 Convention Planning Committee and the 2024 Dysphagia Research Society Annual Meeting Social Committee. Dr. Maldonado De la Rosa mentors future speech-language pathologists through program advising (clinical, academic, and research) and the ASHS STEP Mentorship Committee. She serves as a mentor in the ATSU TLC Course Design Institute and is a member of the ATSU Diversity Enrichment in Education Committee (DEEC) and the ATSU-ASHS Alumni Event Committee. She serves as a faculty advisor of the National Student Speech-Language and Hearing Association, guiding student activities and leading the chapter to achieve Gold Chapter Honor recognition for two consecutive years. She leads the program's Motor Speech Support Group and focuses on serving through volunteering and partnering with organizations like the Davis Phinney Foundation and the Muhammad Ali Parkinson's Center."

2024 Educator of the Year Award: Pamela Kays PT, DPT, EdD

"Dr. Kays was awarded the Innovation in Teaching for Learning Award by the Teaching and Learning Center in 2021 for her innovative and creative instructional methods. Each year she continues to work diligently to develop course content and instructional methods that create a great learning environment for the students. Doctor of Physical Therapy program students continue to provide positive feedback on all course evaluations. Dr. Kays has a great deal of knowledge regarding pelvic health physical therapy and students enjoy both her clinical expertise and the passion that shines through when she teaches. Dr. Kays also clinically instructs PT and OT students in the ATSU Center for Occupational and Physical Therapy on a regular basis, offering opportunities for interprofessional education to students in the area of pelvic health."

2024 Scholar of the Year Award: David Doubblestein PT, PhD

"Since Dr. Doubblestein's hire in 2020, he has had nine publications, two platform presentations, two in-state presentations, led or collaborated on seven grants, and led one podcast and one webinar, all within his area of research interest, lymphology in the rehabilitation sciences. He has engaged in both qualitative and quantitative research approaches, including a most recent endeavor of conducting a Delphi Study. Dr. Doubblestein has started on the next phase of his research where he is, in collaboration with a fellow researcher, conducting an international study on the use of outcome measures by certified lymphedema therapists working in the Middle East."