Farm Service Agency - New Mexico State Office

10/02/2023 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 10/02/2023 22:41

USDA Designates Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas for Drought

USDA Designates Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas for Drought

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Texas

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast Track)

Application Deadline: May 20, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible:Archer, Baylor, Hudspeth, Hunt, Jack, Kaufman, Rockwall, and Van Zandt

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Texas: Clay, Collin, Culberson, Dallas, Delta, Ellis, El Paso, Fannin, Foard, Haskell, Henderson, Hopkins, Jeff Davis, Knox, Montague, Palo Pinto, Parker, Presidio, Rains, Smith, Throckmorton, Wichita, Wilbarger, Wise, Wood, and Young.

New Mexico: Otero

More Resources

On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Loan Assistance Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.