Australian Cycling Federation

01/11/2017 | News release | Distributed by Public on 01/10/2017 20:09

UniSA-Australia set to shine at Santos TDU

Former WorldTour riders Cameron Meyer (WA) and Nathan Earle (TAS) will provide strong leadership to lead an exciting young Team UniSA-Australia outfit at the 2017 Santos Tour Down Under.

The UniSA-Australia team has entered the Santos Tour Down Under each year since 2001 as a wild card competitor, with the team allowing emerging riders to experience a UCI WorldTour event.

Meyer, a five-time world champion on the track and a three-time national champion on the road, will be joined by Earle who finished fifth in the men's road race at the Road Nationals in Ballarat last week.

2016 Jayco World Tour Academy members Lucas Hamilton (VIC), Jai Hindley (WA), Michael Storer (WA), Callum Scotson (SA) and Samuel Jenner (NSW) will also line up.

South Australia's Scotson recently defended his under-23 time trial national title while Armidale's Jenner claimed a memorable win in the under-23 road race ahead of Hamilton in third.

Melbourne's Hamilton gets another crack at the TDU after finishing inside the top 50, just five minutes off the pace, on his debut last January while still a teenager. Later in the year, he became the first Australian to win an individual classification at the Tour de l'Avenir in 2016, with victory in the mountains classification.

The UniSA-Australia team will be led be Team Manager Brad McGee.

Full Team

  • Cameron Meyer (WA)
  • Lucas Hamilton (VIC
  • Jai Hindley (WA)
  • Callum Scotson (SA)
  • Michael Storer (WA)
  • Samuel Jenner (NSW)
  • Nathan Earle (TAS)

More information at