12/14/2023 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 12/14/2023 05:07

La Délégation AELE/UE prend part à la rencontre du Comité parlementaire mixte de l’Espace économique européen

The EEA Joint Parliamentary Committee is a forum composed of members of the parliaments of the EEA/EFTA states of Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, as well as members of the European Parliament. It contributes to a better understanding between the EU and the EFTA states in the areas covered by the EEA Agreement of 1992 through dialogue and debate. Switzerland has observer status in the EEA Joint Parliamentary Committee. The Federal Assembly is represented in this committee by the EFTA/EU Delegation.

In addition to the functioning of the EEA Agreement, the talks will initially focus on the war in Ukraine and the associated sanctions against Russia. Elements of the European Green Deal, with which the EU is aiming to increase its competitiveness and achieve climate neutrality, will also be discussed. This is to be achieved, among other things, with the draft legislation for a net-zero industry, on which the European Parliament adopted its position at the end of November.

Switzerland is a member of EFTA, but not of the EEA. Its observer status enables the Swiss delegation to closely follow developments in the EEA and thus participate in debates on foreign and economic policy issues in Europe that are important for Switzerland.

The meeting of the Joint Parliamentary Committee will be attended by Delegation President Benedikt Würth (The Centre, SG), Vice-President Thomas Aeschi (SVP, ZG), Council of States member Hannes Germann (SVP, SH), Council of States member Carlo Sommaruga (SP, GE) and National Council member Nicolas Walder (The Greens, GE).