Bertelsmann SE & Co KGaA

05/15/2024 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 05/15/2024 03:19

Penguin Random House Mourns The Loss Of Alice Munro

News | Penguin Random House | Toronto, 05/15/2024

Penguin Random House Mourns The Loss Of Alice Munro

Renowned, award-winning author Alice Munro died on Monday in Canada at the age of 92. The Nobel Prize-winning author's books were published in Canada by McClelland & Stewart and Penguin Canada, in the U.S. by Alfred A. Knopf and Vintage, and in the U.K. by Vintage.

Penguin Random House mourns the loss of celebrated, award-winning author Alice Munro. The Nobel Prize-winning author died on Monday at the age of 92 at her home in Port Hope in the Canadian province of Ontario

In Canada, McClelland & Stewart is the long-time publisher of Munro's fiction, and Penguin Canada is the long-time publisher of Alice Munro in paperback. In the U.S., Munro is published by Alfred A. Knopf and Vintage, where she has been edited by Ann Close since 1978; in the U.K., her books are also published by Vintage.

In 2013, Alice Munro became the first Canadian author and thirteenth woman ever to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. Munro has also received many other prestigious awards and prizes, including two Giller Prizes for "The Love of a Good Woman" (1998) and "Runaway" (2004), the Trillium Book Award, the Rea Award for the Short Story, the Lannan Literary Award, the English W. H. Smith Literary Award, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and the Man Booker International Prize. Her book "The Bear Came Over the Mountain" was filmed by Sarah Polley as "Away from Her," and "Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage" came to the big screen as "Hateship Loveship."

Started with her own bookshop

Munro grew up in Wingham, Ontario, and attended the University of Western Ontario where she published her first story "The Dimensions of a Shadow." After moving to Victoria, British Columbia in 1963, she opened Munro's Books with her then husband, James. Her first collection of stories. Her first collection of stories, "Dance of the Happy Shades" (1968), won the Governor General's Award, marking the beginning of a long and successful career.

Since then, she has published thirteen story collections, a novel, "Lives of Girls and Women," and two volumes of Selected Stories. She was awarded her second Governor General's Literary Award in 1978 for "Who Do You Think You Are?," a collection of linked stories that was also shortlisted for the Booker Prize for Fiction in 1980 under the title "The Beggar Maid." She was awarded the Governor General's Literary Award a third time in 1986 for "The Progress of Love."

"Alice Munro is a national treasure-a writer of enormous depth, empathy, and humanity whose work is read, admired, and cherished by readers throughout Canada and around the world," said Kristin Cochrane, CEO of Penguin Random House Canada. "Alice's writing inspired countless writers too, and her work leaves an indelible mark on our literary landscape. All of us at Penguin Random House Canada mourn this loss and we join together with our colleagues at Penguin Random House in the US, the UK, and globally in appreciation for all that Alice Munro has left behind."

Recommend this page