Safaricom plc

03/25/2024 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 03/25/2024 05:30

Safaricom pumps KES 36 Million to support the 2024 WRC Safari Rally

Safaricom pumps KES 36 Million to support the 2024 WRC Safari Rally

25 March 2024

This year, Safaricom has come on board as the official technology partner to provide seamless and speedy 5G network connectivity at various locations during the four-day rally event. Part of the sponsorship, KES. 5 million, will go towards supporting Kenyan youngster, Hamza Anwar.

Nairobi, Kenya - 25th March 2024… Safaricom (NSE: SCOM) has today announced a KES 36 million sponsorship to support the 2024 WRC Safari Rally set for 28th to 31st March in Naivasha, Nakuru County, during the Easter holiday.

Safaricom has come on board as the official technology partner to provide seamless and speedy 4G network connectivity through the provision of five Cell on Wheels (COW) on the ground to provide seamless connectivity during the four-day rally event. Two COWs will be set up at Hell's Gate, two at Soysambu, and one at the Kedong stage, to enhance network strength in viewing areas to cater for the large numbers expected at the rallying event.

As the official technology partner, the telco will also set up two fully equipped media centres installed with internet connectivity at the Service Park and Hells Gate stage.

"For the past four years, Safaricom has consistently shown unwavering support for the WRC Safari Rally. This year we are thrilled to be part of the event and will be coming on board as a technology partner. As part of our commitment to nurturing talent, we will sponsor the youngster Kenyan driver Hamza Anwar as he has demonstrated remarkable passion and resilience in his motorsport career for years," said Mr Peter Ndegwa, the CEO of Safaricom.

Part of this sponsorship, KES. 5 million in cash, will go towards supporting the Kenyan youngster driver, Hamza Anwar, who will be competing in the WRC3 category, driving a Rally 3 Ford Fiesta.

The sponsorship deal will also see Hamza's rally car installed with a telematic gadget, a Smart Vehicle Tracking System, to help Safaricom showcase its IoT (Internet of Things) powered Telematics solution which is available to Safaricom's enterprise customers for fleet management. This solution integrates with the vehicle's onboard computer, collects information on several parameters that are accumulated and recorded at the end and start of each trip. This provides insights into journey duration, vehicle speed, route information, fuel consumption and driver behaviour.

In a strategic move, the telco, through its M-PESA Global International Money Transfer service, has also joined forces with the M-Sport Ford team to support French rally driver Adrien Fourmaux. This partnership will see his car and kits branded M-PESA for the rest of the year.

This year's WRC Safari Rally will return to the original Easter holiday for the first time in 26 years. During the rally, Safaricom will provide an exclusive experience to its customers at various selected locations along the rally route, including a WRC Easter bundle offer.

"As we ignite the passion of the Safari Rally, I want to extend my heartfelt gratitude to Safaricom, a longstanding and crucial partner and supporter of the WRC Safari Rally over the years. Our journey with them has been remarkable, embodying the true essence of sportsmanship and the nurturing of talent. I call upon rally fans to come out in large numbers to experience something truly unique as we cheer on our Kenyan team," said Mr Charles Gacheru, the CEO of WRC Safari Rally.

The 2024 Safari Rally has attracted 29 entries, including WRC points leader and 2022 Safari Rally champion Kalle Rovanpera, Elfyn Evans, Katsuta Takamoto, Ott Tanak, Thierry Neuville, Fourmaux Adrien, Munster Gregoire, Serderidis Jourdan and Solberg Oliver among others.

The Kenyan team will be led by the five-time winner of the Safari Rally and 2009 Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC) champion Carl 'Flash' Tundo, Equator Rally defending champion Karan Patel, Singh Vohra, Aarkif Virani, Hamza Anwar, Minesh Rathod, and Andrew Muiruri.