Indy Racing League LLC

10/02/2018 | News release | Archived content

'Proud' Power honored by Don Award nomination

The accolades continue to roll in for 2018 Indianapolis 500 winner Will Power.

The Team Penske driver is one of eight Australian athletes nominated for 'The Don' Award, which will be awarded at Sport Australia's Hall of Fame 34th Induction and Awards Gala Dinner on Oct. 11. 'The Don' Award is Australia's leading contemporary sport award and named in honour of the Sport Australia Hall of Fame's first Inductee, the late Sir Donald Bradman AC. It has been awarded annually since 1998 to the Athlete or Team who, through their performance and example has most inspired the nation.

'It's very satisfying to know that my efforts are being recognized at home, because although I live and work in America, I am very proud to always fly the Australian flag,' Power said in a statement released by Sport Australia.

Power is joined by Formula 1 driver Daniel Ricciardo, women's soccer star Sam Kerr and record-breaking cricketer Ellyse Perry. Australian Commonwealth Games heroes figure strongly in the nominations with gold medalists Kurt Fearnley AO and Madison de Rozario (track and field wheelchair racing) and outgoing field hockey captain Mark Knowles OAM acknowledged, in addition to para-triathlete Lauren Parker who won a bronze medal at the Games one year after becoming paralysed from the waist down after an accident.

'Because of Sir Donald Bradman's almost supernatural status, being nominated as a finalist for an award named in his honor is pretty intimidating! But 'The Don' Award means even more to me knowing that I do share his standards, values and philosophy. So even if I don't win, this nomination is something I can take pride in - modestly, of course!