Alaska Democratic Party

04/13/2024 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 04/13/2024 17:47

Incumbent President Joe Biden Wins Primary


April 13, 2024

CONTACT: Lindsay Kavanaugh

[email protected]

(907) 258-3050

Incumbent President Joe Biden Wins Alaska Democratic Party Primary

Allocated 17 pledged delegates

ANCHORAGE: Incumbent President Joe Biden has been allocated all 15 pledged delegates and two pledged alternates after winning the Alaska Democratic Party's (ADP) primary for presidential preference.

Candidate Percentage of Vote Delegates
Biden 100% 17

In-person and virtual attendees at 40 house district caucuses across the state took a voice vote on the remaining presidential candidate on the ballot. Minnesota Congressman Dean Phillips met the Alaska Democratic Party's ballot access requirements but suspended his campaign in March after Super Tuesday. The first votes for Biden were cast in the MatSu Borough by State House District 26 Democrats.

Despite there being only one candidate on the ballot, Party leaders remained committed to a democratic process to determine presidential preference. "The Alaska Democratic Party has prioritized providing opportunities for Alaskans to participate in each step of the delegate selection plan," said Lindsay Kavanaugh, Executive Director. "We welcome all Alaska Democrats."

Other business was conducted at the caucuses including the election of Party officers and election of delegates to the ADP State Convention in Juneau, Alaska, on May 18. 2024. Delegates to the Democratic National Convention in Chicago, Illinois, will be elected at the State Convention.

Interested Alaskans can find more information at this link.

Share this: