City of San Luis Obispo, CA

12/09/2022 | News release | Distributed by Public on 12/09/2022 19:41

Council Meeting Recap: SLO City Mayor, Council Members Take Oath of Office

(Caption: City Council from left to right: Vice Mayor Jan Marx, Andy Pease, Mayor Erica A. Stewart, Emily Francis, and Michelle Shoresman.)

The City Council of San Luis Obispo bid farewell to Carlyn Christianson on Friday as Mayor Erica A. Stewart, Council Member Michelle Shoresman, and incoming Council Member Emily Francis each took the oath of office and the new Council appointed Council Member Jan Marx as Vice Mayor.

In this special meeting on Friday, December 9, 2022, the City Council declared the results of the 2022 Municipal Election (held on November 8, 2022) as follows:

  • Erica A. Stewart received the highest number of votes and is the candidate elected to the office of Mayor.
  • Michelle Shoresman and Emily Francis received the highest number of votes and are the candidates elected as Members of City Council.

Mayor Stewart recognized outgoing Council Member Carlyn Christianson with a Certificate of Recognition for her service as Vice Mayor and proclamation expressing appreciation for her dedicated public service and commitment to the community while on City Council. Carlyn began her public service for the City of San Luis Obispo as a Planning Commissioner, and was later elected to City Council in June 2013, November 2014, and November 2018.

Council then appointed Councilmember Jan Marx to serve as Vice Mayor for a one-year term. To ensure that each Council Member has an opportunity to serve as Vice Mayor during their term, the appointment is made on a rotating basis.

The City of San Luis Obispo is a charter city and operates under the "Council-Mayor-City Manager" form of municipal government. The five-member City Council consist of the directly elected Mayor and four City Council Members. Council Members are elected for overlapping, four-year terms. The Mayor is elected for a two-year term and serves as an equal member of the City Council. These terms provide for three vacancies at each City election, which is held in November of even-numbered years.

The City Council is the legislative authority and sets the policies under which the City operates. The City Council has the power to adopt ordinances and resolutions, make appointments to the City's advisory bodies, establish policies and approve programs, appropriate funds, adopt budgets, and approve contracts. The Mayor presides at all meetings of the City Council and is recognized as the official head of the City for all ceremonial purposes.

To receive updates from the City, please register for City News e-notifications on the City's website at or follow the City of San Luis Obispo on social media.

Media Contact: Teresa Purrington, City Clerk, 805.781.7102, [email protected]