Oklahoma Policy Institute

06/14/2021 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 06/14/2021 10:44

OK Policy announces three new board members

The Oklahoma Policy Institute has announced the addition of three new members for its board of directors.

Joining the OK Policy Board of Directors are: Susan Bynum, Beverly K. Carmichael, and Ashley Harris Philippsen, who are all Tulsa residents.

'An organization like OK Policy that is working to effect statewide change requires dynamic leadership with a broad array of experience and talents, and our new board members certainly clear that high bar,' OK Policy Board Chair Dr. Joe Siano said. 'These new members are well positioned to help strengthen the organization's work and create deeper connections throughout the state.'

Susan Bynum is an attorney with Frederic Dowart, Lawyers PLCC where she focuses much of her practice on business and corporate law compliance, federal political law compliance, and employment law. Prior to her current role with Frederic Dowart, her work experience focused on government relations at the federal level. She consulted for clients in the aerospace, health care, and financial services industries. She graduated with honors from the University of Tulsa College of Law in 2017 and was a 2000 graduate of the University of Oklahoma where she received her Bachelor of Arts in Journalism-Public Relations and many accolades including Top Ten Senior and the Bronze Letzseizer Award.

Beverly K. Carmichael is a former C-suite executive having served as the top HR executive at several organizations including Southwest Airlines, Ticketmaster, and Cracker Barrel Old Country Store. She is also an attorney and was the top labor lawyer at heavily unionized Southwest Airlines for many years. Beverly recently retired, moved home to Tulsa, and is doing board work full-time. She currently serves on the Board of Directors at Leaf Group (NYSE: LEAF) and has served on the boards of several non-profit professional organizations including the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) and the Women's Foodservice Forum (WFF). Beverly attended public school in Tulsa and earned Bachelor of Business Administration and Juris Doctorate degrees from the University of Oklahoma, where she has also served as an Adjunct Professor at the Price College of Business.

Ashley Harris Philippsen serves as ImpactTulsa's Senior Director of Community Engagement and Advocacy where she partners with teams to drive policy, systems-change, and programs that create sustainable outcomes for students in the Greater Tulsa area. She is a systems, culture, and equity coach with more than a decade of experience in education, leadership development, civic engagement, and school and curriculum design. Her previous professional experience includes Executive Director at Met Cares, Managing Director of Teacher Leadership Development at Teach For America, Founding Dean of Students at YES Prep Public Schools, and Deputy Chief of Community Development and Policy at the City of Tulsa. She graduated with honors from the University of Oklahoma.

During the June meeting, the Board of Directors also recognized the service of longtime board member Andrew Tevington, who stepped down earlier this year.

OK Policy is an independent non-profit that seeks to advance equitable and fiscally responsible policies that expand opportunity for all Oklahomans through nonpartisan research, analysis, and advocacy. The organization is governed by a board of directors that includes Chair Dr. Joseph Siano, Vice Chair Erika Lucas, Treasurer Charles Garrett, Secretary Jeff Berrong, Kara Berst, Ann-Clore Duncan, Dr. John Feaver, Ken Ferguson, Caroline Guerra Wolf, Dr. Holbrook Lawson, and Dr. John Schumann.

For more information, visit